Skip to content

Formulating Knowledge MindMap – revised

June 5, 2010

I finished the revised Formulating Knowledge MindMap (based on the twenty rules to formulate knowledge). It summarizes the most important principles that all Spaced Repetition  Q&A should include.

Print a copy and put it in your wall, until you know it trough, until you apply it unconsciously – second nature. I have a copy that way.

Another way to make a habit on using this principles is to include the 20 principles as items in you collection with the lowest forgetting index possible (add the mind map to every item for an easy reminder).  Ask your self  to make a new question while applying the principles –  “minimum information principle” “clozes” etc –  you want to all green principles, avoid all red, and choose when to use yellow ones

Don’t ask what is the principle xxx?. You need to procedurally learn them … Hmm, I’ll make a review on procedural learning on next posts.

Get a high definition copy here!


Creative Commons License
Formulating Knowledge MindMap by Germán Salízar Pareja is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 License.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. nmsalgueiro permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:57

    Nice idea, I never thought about including the rules in my reviews. I’ve already downloaded the new hi-res mindmap, thank you very much for it!!

  2. mndfll permalink
    June 9, 2010 15:05

    The article below discusses general techniques to remember words, and includes techniques equivalent to clozes, associations, and imagery, but also adds a fourth, which recent research supports: saying key words aloud. Supermemo articles I’ve read haven’t mentioned this last technique much, though it would obviously play a part in learning a foreign language with SM. Perhaps saying key words aloud should be part of the mindmap.

    http://www.spring.org.uk/2010/06/memory-improved-by-saying-words-aloud.php

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 14, 2010 15:30

      mndfll: I’m totally convinced that distinctiveness is of most utter importance for memory excellence, one of the greatest difficulties at recall time comes from the fact that memory is interfered by some other information, adding a motor neural pathway to each piece of knowledge should help us remember better. But this kind of ideas are just philosophy unless they are supported by formal research, now I have the research to support them. Thanks.

      I was thinking that a great way to recall at least the main branches of the mind mind could be using technique three in the article, that its “Generation” perhaps trough using some legend on the lower part one can check out the answer.

  3. Aster permalink
    June 18, 2010 06:10

    Hello,

    which mindmapping software do you use with supermemo OLE components?
    I tried Mindman, but it doesn’t work (error with OLE server). Mindmanager
    doesn’t work also.
    Then I tried about 4 other applications with bad results (Mindmapper, edrawmindmap,
    solution language tool, …)

    thanks for your tips

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 19, 2010 10:26

      Sorry, I can’t provide you with a better solution. MindMapper2008 OLE component works, but is not totally OLE editable from inside supermemo, MindMannager latest version is not compatible with sm2006 or sm2008.

      There is an application exclusively designed to memorize mind maps (sort of), although I find it more use full to memorize algorithms, or sequences of procedure. The intervals it uses are arbitrary set, and this is the reason I’ve never posted about it before, but sometimes we have to use what’s available, something is always better then nothing. To handle big mind maps, I currently using sm2008 and its incremental picture processing features. But only on mindmaps already finished. Otherwise I use items that ask about a certain mind map and file linking to open the required application, I do my review of the mind map the item ask, and continue my repetitions on SuperMemo, or sometimes if I know it will take to much time, then that item is postponed or rescheduled.

      Almost forgot, the application mentioned is called RecallPlus, latest version , v4, is multidimentional, I can understand its usefulness, but previous v3 could handle very well algorithms and mind maps memorization (except the issue of arbitrary scheduluing, as I mentioned before).

      Some how I find that using mind maps diverts from separating knowledge into comprehensible parts, but at the same time reviewing mind maps trough spaced repetitions helps me recall the big picture ideas on complex topics. In short I use spaced repetition from some Mindmaps but I avoid doing it for most of the time. It would be great if you share your experiences on MindMapping study trough spaced repetitions.

  4. Aster permalink
    June 24, 2010 07:17

    Thanks for your experience.
    I tried to memorize this mindmap
    http://www.buzan.com.au/learning/mindmapgallery.html
    I created occlusions for every text. I hoped that nice colorful branches and pictures
    have positive effects on memory and initially I was able to visualize the whole
    mindmap when I was riding bicycle etc. But now I have the mindmap (many occlusions)
    about two months in supermemo and I don’t feel it has positive effects on memory.
    What I find more usefull is using mindmaps for “big pictures” and incremental editing of
    mindmaps. If you read some books you go with time deeper and deeper and you have
    better understanding of your field of interest, so you can repair your mindmaps, add something, edit something or delete something.
    So now I see the only advantage in incremental editing of mindmaps and the mindmaps
    shoud contain only keywords and images, that you understand and can reconstruct the whole thoughts. Then I create supermemo elements where I copy the whole thoughts
    and to which branch of mindmap they relate. So I can have the whole picture and also
    go into detail if I want.
    I memorize only little. I’m rather incrementally reading, notetaking and mindmapping (I copy pictures of mindmaps and now I’m trying to utilize the OLE components).
    Thanks for tip on recall plus. I heard about it but haven’t studying it yet.

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 25, 2010 08:08

      All of this makes quite good sense, I to use Mindmaps to help me review the big picture, and using a spaced repetition system is necessary only for certain type of specific information. Which of the mind maps on that gallery is the one you’ve tried to memorize?

  5. Aster permalink
    June 25, 2010 08:46

    I’ve tried to memorize
    “A Mind Map on the Laws of Mind Mapping”. I think this technique can be good for presentations, but maybe such memorization is better without spaced repetitions
    with occlusions.

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 25, 2010 14:08

      I didn’t notice the first mindmap, cognitive blidness, I think it is called. Your are right about not using occlusions I find it a lot of increased workload just to make them, some people do use it, as it is effective, but as stated before not efficient (value/cost). When I said: “reviewing mind maps trough spaced repetitions helps me recall the big picture ideas on complex topics”. This meant using a link to the mindmap I wish to review and review it entirely on the proprietary mindmapping software. SuperMemo would be used to keep track of how well I remember the overall structure, content, or full content some mind map, depending on the objective at that particular moment. Some time trough this process you might find certain pieces of information (branches or sub-branches) in the mind map that you want to reinforce is recall, then this portions are converted to specific Q&A pair and review with supermemo. What do you think of this approach?

  6. Aster permalink
    June 26, 2010 07:49

    I use similar approach.
    But I rather paste a screenshot of mindmap as image, because I usually don’t want to open the mindmap with software. The drawback is that if I want to restructuralize the mindmap (because of new insight) I have to create the mindmap again.
    I like reviewing handwritten mindmap with pen and paper and scanned. Mindmaps are good, because when reviewing you can read very quickly what is most important. I also tried screenshots of PDF texts with highlighting what is important, but for me works most to make excerpts (sometimes use SQ3R method) incrementaly and then some mindmap, sketch or diagram.
    Occlusions are good for anatomy. They can be fast with autohotkey
    e.g.
    !m::
    send ^!d
    return
    !l::
    send ^{up}
    return

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 26, 2010 11:19

      Thanks for those insight, I’m planning on using scanned hand written notes for the residency program notes, I’ll post follow up on how that goes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

