Skip to content

Taggin for SuperMemo extracts and items.

April 2, 2009

(A new easier version of this post will be posted later, I just find this process way to slow, and have change to an easier faster method.20090522_1237) Tagging for Items revised.

In the last couple of month an idea has been pervading my mind, I don’t remember if I have posted this issue before, but as my notes seem to reflect it is of a recurring concern to me, how to find the “extracts” made with incremental reading so that at any given time I could have at a glance extract related be themes and not only fragments related by the parent from where a fragment was  extracted.

The evolution has been rather slow, or at least not collaborative enough to find a quick answer. But as the world it self always is, coincidence or not, I have gone back to square one.

The order of way to tag SM extracts or items:

  1. [*notes][*learning & memory][*research]
  2. =notes, =learning & memory, =research,
  3. [[notes][[learning][[research]]

This are the best three ways used, many more were tried but only this survived more than a week.

As there was (I didn’t know others) no tag program portable enough, where to keep track of the tags used, all I could do is tried to implement them my self, but I lack the neccesary skills, I have tried GoogleNotes, TreePad, UberNote, TiddlyWiki, even Delicious, or lastly Diggo.

Finally Zotero has been my choice, and if experience is what lets our theories be proven, yesterday I had the chance to know, almost with out trying that this issue does work. In following post I try to explain everything in detail.

But basically what I do, is keep track of the tags used on Zotero, every time I find an item or extract important enough to be track. I think this could be easily thought but even better is rewarding to know there is actually a scientific base for working in this algorithmic manner.

Oliver Goergeon has a TiddlyWiki on the subject CognyWiki.

So back to the subject, when ever something is important enough, you must tagged it, but this tagging should be made in a note entry in Zotero. The tags it self must also be included in the supermemo extract or items.

That’s the whole idea, hope to receive suggestions.

I don’t want to memorize everything I find while reading but I want to be able to retrieve something I remember had read before, but is not yet included on supermemo, or its been a while since last repetition.

Tagging for Items revised.

[Image]
5 Comments leave one →
  1. LittleFish permalink
    April 3, 2009 13:14

    I’ve been using Supermemo for about three years. For a time I was super concerned about organization of the material that I’ve learned. I never got as far as tagging, but I wanted to keep the various subjects that I learned separate from one another. But I’ve strayed away from that (Along with incremental reading), and I’ve settled on this as my solution: I have very general subjects/categories that I keep at the “base” of the knowledge tree. For example: Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, World Religions, Jokes, etc. Each of those subjects are Topics (The “T” with a green background) and allow me to type and extract text within. Also, each “subject” has a specific picture attached to it so I can figure out what subject I’m dealing with quickly (If it has a picture of a star on it, it has something to do with astronomy, etc.). I keep stuff in text documents that I take around with me on my EEEPC Netbook. When I have time I read articles in that text document and convert relevant material into Supermemo items that go in their respective categories for processing.

  2. BassJugler permalink
    April 3, 2009 17:14

    I found at times in same dile trying to organize information was a pain in the … but I settle also for the same option as you LittleFish. Big categories, everything goes there with a special category template, no need for tagging.

  3. fitbrain permalink*
    April 4, 2009 20:27

    LittleFish:

    >I keep stuff in text documents that I take around with >me on my EEEPC Netbook. When I have time I read >articles in that text document and convert relevant >material into Supermemo items that go in their
    >respective categories for processing.

    Do you mean you saved your documents as .txt format (only text), I now this is fast and versatile, but I’ve always been a little concern about losing my self because of pictures, however I’ve doing research in this area, and many people do keep their information in only text files.

  4. LittleFish permalink
    April 9, 2009 18:08

    I just keep a queue of high-priority, non-picture stuff in a .txt document. The information is all equally important, so the more I can trudge through the document the more progress I’ve made. I also use a program called “Instapaper” for my iTouch. Wonderful, wonderful program for reading interesting online articles over a period of time. Anything interesting I don’t delete and put into Supermemo later.
    And about pictures: If pictures are really important for something, I just add the pictures into Supermemo later (Each card has some sort of picture by default in the flashcard, so if I want a more context-specific picture there, I simply change it to another picture in the image registry).

Trackbacks

  1. Taggin for SuperMemo (2) « The SuperMemo Blog

Leave a Reply

