Skip to content

Flashcards are boring – This is a trivia game… enjoy.

May 8, 2009

Thing happens when you least expect them. Yesterday I when onto a conversation with a friend of mine, who it totally convince of not using SuperMemo or any SRS like software, I said to him that any method for learning works, but the algorithm for presenting the bullions of information in your collection makes it time wort. Is just a great way to save time and get thing done I argued, but no way I was close to convince any SRS would be of great help to him, at the end of this debate, he asked me, if I had to twitter a message to convince him to try out the software, what would I say:

“Flashcards are boring – This is a trivia game… enjoy”

Today I was searching if the cloud had something related to this though and thankfully a fellow blogger has. Jerry’s Blog – Because Wit Happens has a post related to SuperMemo, which I recommend you read, where he also says:

Anyway, I’ve been using it to brush up on my Spanish and have been making huge strides. Flashcards are boring–this is much more fun and kind of like playing JEOPARDY

Only trouble know would be if friend don’t like trivia games.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. LittleFish permalink
    May 13, 2009 12:29

    I use a Wiimote to review Supermemo on my computer, and it feels kind of like a gameshow. It is a good feeling 🙂

    • gersapa permalink*
      May 14, 2009 09:51

      That’s something I have not try yet, sounds worth though.

  2. LittleFish permalink
    May 14, 2009 10:38

    I’ll take a video soon and post it on youtube and post the link here so you can see how the setup works. I really, really love it.

  3. July 31, 2009 14:42

    Wow–I’ve just come over to this site based on your helping me over at the Yahoo Supermemo site, and saw the link to my own blog above.

    Hope you enjoy my blog as much as I’m enjoying yours today!

    • gersapa permalink*
      September 4, 2009 14:00

      Hey, Jerry I read previously on your Blog about many ideas related to using videos for learning but couldn’t find them, please send me a link to those post.

  4. September 4, 2009 14:14

    Just go to YouTube and type “Supermemo” in the search box. There are several tutorials there!

  5. September 4, 2009 14:16

    By the way, at the Supermemo Yahoo Groups site someone just pointed out that there is a Supermemo 2008 that just came out–and which has some kind of video capability.

    I’m hoping I can use it with a group of “American Sign Language” (for speaking to deaf people) videos that I’ve been able to download on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

