Skip to content

Very unhappy with postpone.

June 27, 2009

In the beginning it was all peace and calm. But as items started to fill my outstanding repetitions, postpone was going to come and help. At least that’s what Dr. Wozniak announced. Until this very momment I have been unable to configure to my best benefit this postpone criteria, somehow I know you can’t make this program to be the more difficult possible software, but still many times I feel Dr. Wozniak just doesn’t understand common human mortals and thinks every single help page in the supermemo site is clearly stated what and what to do in order to accomplish what we want.

Does anybody use postone? even better anyone has configure postpone manually insted of the default values? What are the criteria you use in postpone?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 13:52

    I mostly set delay factor (1,5-2 to put the repetitions farther into future) and “skip interval beyond” (up to 1000) to include more items. But this depends on the age of the collection (mine is 10 years old).

    I agree that this is very hard to use – there should be a single button “postpone” which would inteligently understand your way of learning and put into the future those elements that are less likely to be forgotten… Well, in fact, there is such option “auto-postpone” in SM2006.

  2. gersapa permalink*
    June 29, 2009 06:05

    I don’t really like leaving my knowledge to an autopostone feature, unless the criteria for this postpone it clear to me. If the time is no issue of course 1,5 a even greater seem very good, in fact might be ideal. But how do you prevent pieces of information not being review for a long time. I used to have a limitation on the “skip interval beyond” up to 360 days, meaning if something has an interval greater than a year don’t postpone it, but this doesn’t really get the overload to an acceptable level (at least in my collection). How well it this stated postpone options fare with your requested forgetting index until know. I use SuperMemo for two years now so a more experience would be great.

    • Marcin Rybacki permalink
      June 30, 2009 07:56

      I as well mistrust any automatic mechanism over which I have little control. I use postpone only for articles which accumulated so much that I can’t process them within reasonable period of time. I “span” those articles to a period of 2-3months with postpone method.

      • gersapa permalink*
        July 6, 2009 08:14

        I would be happy to learn how you deal with procrastination: Maybe I just want to eat an elephant all at once, hence I get to much overloaded. I like the idea of postponing articles that much, if you can’t make it with repetitions of items it makes no sense doing more articles, many small details can fall out of view when only seen the big picture, thanks.

      • Marcin Rybacki permalink
        July 7, 2009 07:57

        Well… I don’t deal with procrastination too much…. I try to keep my knowledge base conservative by keeping track of the workload indicator. If it grows too much I curb adding new items to the ones which are the most relevant. This way I usually am able tak control and no to lag behind with some outstanding items. I noticd that my daily limit is about 2-3 hourse at best. This relates to items only, I tend to use postpone on excessive topics rather nonchalantly (in the way I described above).

Leave a Reply

