Skip to content

More reader’s than previously expected, even less talkers.

June 29, 2009

A couple of days ago this blog got above the 1,000 visitors mark, something not so big to brag about. Nevertheless something good, it means people are reading. But, why aren’t you guys talking more. I guess, the writing will continue as ideas flow in and out the supermemo related algorithms. I’d like to learn more about the way people do to tackle the difficulty with Supermemo or solve special issues related to learning in general. Like for example, many would like a new current version of Supermemo software, but how would it look like, would it be a complete revamped program, and overhaul or minnor bug patched version?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 08:16

    Definitely a complete revamped program. They do Supermemo UX, but I don’t think this is the right direction. Will see.

    And correlating sleep data with learning, which Wozniak was recently working on, may be interesting too.

  2. June 29, 2009 08:36

    Supermemo UX is a different line of products. Recently an employee of Polish “Supermemo World” company wrote on one forum that they now have nothing to do with “Woźniak’s Supermemo”, cause this is Wozniak’s private project now. So I would not expect a new and better version soon, which is sad.

    An obvious direction would be not new features but rewriting the whole app toward usability and ease of use. I would even be happy with something like UX but with all those advanced features like IR and Postpone. Besides, some features should be dropped – for instance templates are so complicated now that almost noone makes his own templates. I would simply prepare a couple of predefined templates and allow styling them using CSS.

    • June 29, 2009 13:44

      I think you might be interested in this project: http://smuxplugins.codeplex.com/
      This is an extension system for SuperMemo UX – now you can do SM your way…

      • gersapa permalink*
        September 6, 2009 10:39

        Your Pluging is great, I’ve tested, makes UX much more functional. The bad thing though is that no documentation is available and also menus are written in polish. If you could translate this plugin this could be an excelent addon for UX.
        I’ll be the first to make a review about it.
        Note: Spam engine from wordpress had your comment blocked, sorry on the response delay. I’ll be catching up on a lot of ideas starting this new week.

    • zenttel0279 permalink
      August 17, 2009 15:12

      This is areally bad, anyone else know if this is for real, supermemo UX looks like a brand newly refurbished not working piece of garbage, beatiful nevertheless useless.

      • gersapa permalink*
        August 18, 2009 09:04

        A far as I can tell this is true, SuperMemo multimedia was a nice product, but it won’t be developed further. SuperMemo UX is not good for need neither it lacks to much functionality but is a nice looking, for now though I’m passing it.

  3. LittleFish permalink
    June 30, 2009 07:26

    I’m happy with Supermemo just the way it is; flawed, useful and quirky. I would LOVE if Supermemo were easier to use, better GUI, etc., but I’m so used to it at this point, I’m fine if it stays this way forever (There has not been a single HUGE problem that makes Supermemo unbearable as a result).

  4. Marcin Rybacki permalink
    June 30, 2009 07:44

    I agree with Robert. Some features should be dropped for the sake of simplicity, but at the same time I doubt the author will go towards simplicity. Knowing his resistance to change this child of his ;).

    I don’t find any use in tasklists, for example. They only obcure the general look&feel.

    I wouldn’t agree templates should be abandoned entirely, but they should evolve toward HTML-only templates. So let’s resign from RTF, image and text components which seem to be redundant, all of this could be nicely arranged with HTML.

  5. gersapa permalink*
    July 3, 2009 04:48

    For me a better overall feel of the program would be nice, there are many aspects to enhance. I definitely think SuperMemo UX is a bad, bad product, very stylist non functional.
    I, don’t like the several window in supermemo 2000 and beyond, they just don’t look good, even worst on windows vista.
    Robert’s idea of styling trough CSS and predefined templates is great, I’ve tried tiddlywiki for a certain time, and you can definitively do everything needed with them (almost) and it ill required users to learn CSS (don’t think most would want to).
    I suppose a great interface is not easy to accomplish without the lost of power user features, but I currently tested Acrobat PDF pro extended v9, and there is no lost of one function, yet the GUI is great (or at least I like it).
    I had a lot of troubles with the components order, but like Little fish says, you get use to it, though the question was because SuperMemo is loosing ground against clones, which don’t get even close to the algorithms in sm98 an beyond yet they are so simple to used that people or going for them.
    I hate to read article with the titles like “goodbye SuperMemo hello whatever”. I like SuperMemo is ugly should be better maybe but it is not, is a great program still it can be overhaul.

    • Littlefish permalink
      August 18, 2009 13:03

      I know a Chinese family who wanted to use flashcards to remember things, and I recommended Anki to them (Supermemo is kind of hard to get used to). I talked to them six months later and they said they both stopped using Anki for various reasons (Uneven distribution intervals for learned cards, retention did not seem to improve with time, a lack of options for locating and analyzing their progress, etc). They used Anki for quite some time before stopping. I installed Supermemo onto their computer and showed them how to add flashcards. As an experiment, one of them has begun using Supermemo, and will continue using it for one month; after the month is over we will compare results. I’ll post the results here.

      • betosalva permalink
        August 27, 2009 10:23

        I’ll be waiting those results, I’m also just starting (less then 4 months) with SM sharing other begginers experience like me would probably stop me from going to better looking apps.

Leave a Reply

