Skip to content

General Rule of Learning

August 15, 2009

My mind is not wired like everyone else, I get that very often, I find my self doing math when I’m reading. I take something in something and end adding, subtracting, sometimes exponentially associating previous data, and finally having the x of my equation as an answer. By the way, my brain is not wired like any one else brain. No single brain is wired the same, but hey! this makes evolution possible, right?

The following is the way my brain played with a nice “rule” I read on a very interesting blog. The author has many ideas I share, there is a lot of thinking on the blog, unfortunately I’ll have to wait the priority queue of my SuperMemo until I read some more posts, I leave you the golden rule processed tonight before going to sleep.

Original:

The Golden Rule of Language Learning: Absolutely any method of language learning, as long as it includes regular exposure to the target language, will eventually yield fluency if followed faithfully enough.

Intermediate:

The Golden Rule of Language Learning: Absolutely any method of language learning, as long as it includes regular exposure to the target language knowledge,  will eventually yield fluency if followed faithfully enough.

Final:

The Golden Rule of Learning: Absolutely any method of  learning, as long as it includes regular exposure to the target knowledge,  will eventually yield fluency if followed faithfully enough.

Although this rule says nothing about how to learn, is says a lot about not stopping half way trough the learning process. Now, if lifelong learning is a must to excel in our current stage of development it means…  regular exposure to the target knowledge. This is where my beloved and faithful personal learning assistant Supermemo helps, he’ll make sure I don’t forget the Golden Rule of Learning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marcin Rybacki permalink
    August 16, 2009 02:58

    According to some reasearch source of which I cannot recall, We remember 5% of what we hear, 20% of what we say and 90% of what we do. SM doesn’t exactly fall into ‘do’ category… but, if used prudently, it ships you with theoretical and factual frame. Having this frame you may build your experience. And this exposure you’re referring to helps to advance this process. I know from my experience how this changed my professional career. Studying with Supermemo, definetily broadened my mental toolkit making me more versatile and knowledgable in solving particular problems.

    • gersapa permalink*
      August 19, 2009 09:29

      “but, if used prudently, it ships you with theoretical and factual frame”

      I’m understanding here that you mean to skill learning, or knowing how to do something (e.a. capable of stating the necessary step for some action) versus actually been able to do it. If this is so, How do you make use of supermemo to accomplish this?

  2. LittleFish permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:01

    I apologize, as an effect of Incremental Reading seems to be a slight ignorance of knowledge sources; I can only say “I read this article somewhere recently…”
    Anyways, I read an article recently; the main point was that very skillful people in almost any profession establish a pattern of DAILY (Even weekends) practicing and honing their skill, for the same amount of time (And usually at the same time of the day).
    The application with Supermemo is obvious; if you make it a common practice to use Supermemo daily, around the same time, and you put forth effort to make the Supermemo process efficient, not only do you benefit by learning stuff, but your ability to learn, restructure, and memorize knowledge will approach “professional” level. Since I have never met a “professional-guy/girl-that-represents-knowledge,” I’m not sure what it means, but it has to be good. 😀
    In another article (See below), I read something also very interesting: The very act of TESTING, not studying, is what helps to cement something into your brain. Thus the reasons for the effectiveness of Supermemo are even more clear.
    http://www.psychologicalscience.org/observer/getArticle.cfm?id=2425
    I read a few interesting topics on the blog you mentioned, and I’m going to check it out. Thanks for posting them.

    • gersapa permalink*
      August 19, 2009 09:38

      It was in SuperMemo site that I first read a similar affirmation on getting better at knowledge representation, of course in Dr Wozniak’s particular own way — Than genius are only different from everyone else because of their knowledge representation —
      Do we really get better at representing knowledge trough the use of SuperMemo? I don’t know if I’ll ever meet a professional standard of formulating knowledge. Life long learning should probably focus a lot on this issue. What I I do know is that we get better, much better trough a careful meta-cognitive process (self analysis of our own thinking) while using supermemo.
      Here a nice example, thanks to your advice I been putting more attention on when a WHY type of question is best. (https://thesupermemoblog.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/usability-not-extension-determines-flash-card-content/#comment-192).

      Regarding testing effect (that testing is better than restudying for recall), in all studies that have tested this effect and conclusively demonstrated it subjects first learn the material. I’m over stating this because many times I have added items that though where interesting and or though would need in the future with out really knowing them. Then when supermemo asked me this I wouldn’t remember them. Of course I now know supermemo is for remembering what you know, you told before about this. Is difficult to see with other peoples eyes. So the testing effect implies that once you know something is much better to test your self in that knowledge but you need to learned first.

      Now I continue to add a lot of data I intention to learn (hence not yet remember even once). I don’t leave them pending anymore, else it might never getting into the repetitions, for me is all about learning the most possible. What I’ve been doing lately is studying on weekends a portion of those items that have not yet been answered correctly until the current date, this is a safety net for unlearned items.

Leave a Reply

