Skip to content

Newbie: Grading items during repetitions.

August 19, 2009

A very trivial question for many, but I’ve received a couple of email asking me how do I grade an item during repetitions.

I you read supermemo’s site you’ll probably get even more lost. A friend of mine is using this way of answering questions.

Normal

Bright, Good, Pass, Fail, Bad, Null

New

Easy,Fine,Barely,Almost,Fail,Null

This seems a great way to deal about how to grade the questions, with time I think it doesn’t really matter most, but in the beginning its helpful to know how to grade items in order to be consistent with such grading.

Responding about how I grade items.

Bright = Piece of cake!

Good = I know this

Pass = I think is … and you get a correct response

Fail = I think is ..  and you get a bad response

Bad = I don’t remember the answer

Null = I don’t remember have seen the question before

However: [Easy,Fine,Barely,Almost,Fail,Null] seems so self explanatory that I would even change the text on the buttons. You can use that by using the translation

If you are using sm2006 you could copy and modified a file named “Trimmed.tra” on:

C:\SuperMemo\translat

Then edited with any text editor. This file is used for translation of the user interface in to several languages, unfortunately not all dialogs can be translated.

After doing such changes and saving the modified “trimmed.tra” (I used GRADING.tra) in the save folder and original file. open up your supermemo, hit ctr+alt+O (supememo options dialog), go to language tab, and set “Localization grading:”  to GRADING.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ramon permalink
    August 20, 2009 02:01

    mine would be:

    Too easy, Good, With effort, Almost, Bad, Null

  2. zenttel0279 permalink
    August 20, 2009 07:53

    What’s with the “Fine” option, is almost as confusing as the original version.

    I’d say:

    To Easy,Good,Barely,Almost,Bad,Null

    Somewhere in supermemo.com says that should only be concerned when rating “Pass or Fail”. If you don’t use the rating algorithm properly, would it work accordingly?

  3. January 25, 2014 09:36

    Hello very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m happy to search out so many useful info here in the put up, we’d like
    develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  4. September 28, 2014 07:13

    You really make it appear really easy with your presentation however I to find this matter to be really something which I
    think I would by no means understand. It sort of feels too complicated and very broad
    for me. I am having a look ahead on your next post, I’ll try to get the
    cling of it!

Leave a Reply

