Skip to content

Importing MOV files in SuperMemo

September 4, 2009

Any fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.

Albert Einstein

Sorry, for those of you who’ve asked many hacks, tweeks and advice on using and GTD in supermemo. It’s been, and still is a full week effort, but I wanted to drop a new short post regarding some question of a fellow “Supermemoer” (aka people that embrace supermemo methodology).

Previous post concerning import of audio files did not address some issues in the sake of simplicity, although many post here don’t look simple, I always strive for simpler ways to accomplish task.

a) If I would like to have the MOV video Autoplay by default

Q: Question_text<BR><EMBED height=180 type=video/x-mov width=200 src=file:///C:/Downloads/Video/sign_0050.mov autostart=”true”>

A: Dummy_text

Q: Question_text<BR><EMBED height=180 type=video/x-mov width=200 src=file:///C:/Downloads/Video/sign_0050.mov autostart=”true”>

A: Dummy_text

b) If I would like to manually play the MOV video file

Q: Question_text<BR><EMBED height=180 type=video/x-mov width=200 src=file:///C:/Downloads/Video/sign_0050.mov autostart=”false”>

A: Dummy_text

Q: Question_text<BR><EMBED height=180 type=video/x-mov width=200 src=file:///C:/Downloads/Video/sign_0050.mov autostart=”false”>

A: Dummy_text

Notes:

“Q: ” line should be written in a single line, or in any case each new line started with another “Q: ” tag.

Type needed to let SM know what type of player to use, Width and Height are configuration options.

This type of embedding works in SuperMemo 2006, might need other tweeks on other versions.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marcin Rybacki permalink
    September 5, 2009 03:10

    I wonder how incremental video mechanism in sm2008 would look like. I dread this would be restricted to youtube only

  2. gersapa permalink*
    September 5, 2009 07:12

    Well absolutely, it should be interesting. Google has launch a Youtube API long ago, and its totally customizable, hope it looks great.

    This post was related to using MOV (quicktime) videos, since no other way is possible under current sm2006. Using the video registry, or importing as files don’t work either.

    Can’t wait to get my hands on it ….

  3. ramon permalink
    September 5, 2009 08:16

    if you didn’t know, seems like sm2008 is out:
    http://www.super-memo.com/supermemo2008.html

    • gersapa permalink*
      September 5, 2009 19:19

      Yeah, this very interesting (no more Youtube API learning for me). If you test it out and want to discuss material related drop me a line. I had decided to not discuss this for personal reasons, buy I believe is fare take a look a it so in a short lapse of time I’ll have a trough discussion of my likes and dislikes on this new version.

  4. LittleFish permalink
    September 6, 2009 21:31

    SM2008 is out!!! Woo hoo! I’m downloading it now, you’ll have to do a post about it so we can get a discussion going! 😀
    If Supermemo can control my sleep patterns and my TV watching, that would be rad (Less time wasted)… at the price of my humanity, I guess…

  5. September 29, 2009 19:59

    Oh, wow! I’ve got to check this blog more regularly.

    I hadn’t realized you had solved the problem I wrote about at the Yahoo Supermemo Group site in connection with playing video in Supermemo.

    Thank you for all the work you do on this!

Leave a Reply

