Skip to content

A better way of Importing MOV files to SuperMemo

September 9, 2009

Fastest way to import files into supermemo is by menu options:
File: Import: File & Folders

Previous trouble with MOV files was they didn’t play, because SuperMemo relies on MCI (Multimedia Control Interface).

This Media Control Interface, MCI in short, is an aging high-level API developed by Microsoft and IBM for controlling multimedia peripherals connected to a Microsoft Windows or OS/2 computer, such as CD-ROM players and audio controllers.

For a number of years, the MCI interface has been phased out in favor of the DirectX APIs. Source: Wikipedia

Fastest way to import files is still: File: Import: File & Folders

Just change the .mov extension to .mpg before, that way MCI (SuperMemo) will bypass the trouble with MCI for mov files, then choose the folder with your .mov (quicktime) mpg files and use File: Import: File & Folders

Ok, but then you have to spend hours changing you thousand mov files to mpg manually? Well you could better use AnalogX Extension Changer (download).

This freeware is the most easy to use extension changer. Drop and drag the files you need to change its extension, choose a new one (e.g. “mpg”), hit rename. (drop the complete folder, AnalogX will understand you mean the files not folders).

There you have it easier then typing a Q&A text file. Sometimes you’ll probably prefer text files, but no more trouble importing your MOV files to the sound registry

(ok, I got complex again, not my fault I’m not complicated, Its…. Supermemo fault, for been so much powerful, wright?

SuperMemo 2008 post will come out soon… we must see under the hood before you buy a car don’t we – perhaps not so much this days. I’ll do the testing (under a complete safe environment – complete geekeness I know, but if your going to play with your databank you should!)

Stay tuned.

AnalogX HomePage:  http://www.analogx.com/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 20:52

    Hmmm…

    I just tried all of this with those same ASL Videos that you are using. I imported the folder where I have my videos (after changing the extensions of all to mpg), and all imported just fine–I’ve done this a number of times with audio files. I then opened the “Content” menu and changed the “Topics” to “Items” as I always do with my audio files.

    But then I got the same error message that there was an MCI issue and a player couldn’t be found.

    What player is appearing for you? During the import, I DID get a popup telling me that I had an option to look for “ffdshow”, but I just went with the default of not doing that.

    What am I missing? You actually have those sign language videos working?!

  2. gersapa permalink*
    October 1, 2009 17:53

    Yes, Jerry I think sometimes a video should be included with text, hence I’ve updated this post.

    N.B.: I installed QuickTime againg, because I recieve MCI warning in another machine that didn’t have it installed.

  3. October 3, 2009 16:47

    Well, I’m doing the same thing you are in the video but getting that MCI warning.

    Possibly my Quicktime needs updating (I have it on this machine) or I need to make sure I’ve associate MPG files with it. I’ll check.

    Thanks for all your work on this. It IS exciting to see that you’ve had some success with it.

  4. October 3, 2009 17:41

    Ahhhh…Vista no longer supports MCI.

    By doing a LOT of research on the Internet, it is telling me I need to CONVERT the MOV files to MPG (with Quicktime PRO) rather than simply change the extension. Do you have Quicktime PRO and is that what you did? I hate to plunk down $30 for the PRO version–surely a mere change of the extension isn’t enough?!

  5. October 3, 2009 17:51

    Just to make clear: Merely converting the extension to MPG, I can see the files in Quicktime itself–just not in Supermemo 2006, which still gives me the MCI error.

    • gersapa permalink*
      October 3, 2009 23:47

      MCI not supported on vista absolute truth. However this should be fixable. I’ll try to do this as soon as I get to my office laptop, at home i only have XP and Windows7 preview.

Leave a Reply

