Skip to content

Day 7, SuperMemo Ultramarathon

April 20, 2010
tags:

Day 7 has been a day with to much overload, external overload, I manage to complete 387 repetitions only. I felt like asking for the paramedics because my nails went of on the middle of the race.

Also, yesterday Ryan Hall made a great effort on the Boston Marathon, but this race got me distracted, and I didn’t catch up time lost at night.

Long distance races have in common that in order to be halfway trough the race you must have finished like 66% – 70% of the race. This ultra is no different, I’m feeling tired, and I’ve lost some ground on the planned reps per day. Anyway, today I ‘m going hard again and hopefully recover some ground.

Remainder for the day:
Study even if you think you won’t learn enough

People fail to predict that they will be able to remember more words after studying more – people base their prediction of how much they will learn on how much they remember now (e.a. on memory state before they study).

Nate Kornell, Robert A. Bjork. A stability bias in human memory: Overestimating remembering and underestimating learning.. Journal of Experimental Psychology General, 2009; 138 (4): 449 DOI: 10.1037/a0017350

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mndfll permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:35

    I like your memory quotes: they are good food for thought.

    • gersapa permalink*
      April 20, 2010 11:53

      Before SuperMemo I only had quotes, after SuperMemo I don’t always remember those quotes, but they keep coming up, thanks to its incremental reading. I’m glad it inspires thoughts to yo to. I’ve fixed previous text construction is more a paraphrase now.

  2. rmd permalink
    April 20, 2010 19:24

    LOVE hearing about your journey, and the references. I’ve learned a lot from both!

    I also saw your response to my earlier question .. . thank for responding! One more question: where did you get all your questions? Did you buy a database, or make your own? If you bought one, how well has it worked?

    • gersapa permalink*
      April 23, 2010 06:25

      I made up about 70% of the collection, the rest is from MCQ paper questions banks. I’m more descriptive on Day 8 response.

Leave a Reply

