Skip to content

Day 8, SuperMemo Ultramarathon

April 21, 2010

Image credit: http://www.nvbc.org/

Thank you all for following up, I’m trying to respond any comments on every daily post at least until the 14 days supermemo ultramarathon are done.

I’m feeling great about this journey as the goal for yesterday was accomplished, I also had enough time to debate and learn some issues related to “Property I” USA’s laws — That wasn’t planned, but it just came as one of yesterdays task.

Remainder for the day:

“A dream is just a dream.  A Goal is a dream with a plan and a deadline”

(Harvey Mackay)

I made 612 repetitions, more then 140 where MCQ, only 56 extracts where processed. I found out most of my time lost in previous days was due to studying to much new information, you normally know this, but its hard to grasp, unless you have really big time constrains. Still working out much better doing several blocks of repetition ( 300 morning, 100 afternoon, 212 at night).

Regarding the database collection I’m using, its a mix of personal collection and MCQ paper question banks. I’m building this collection since December 2007. Up to February it consisted mostly of SuperMemo information articles, extracts and questions. After I I read about building a compiler for some new language under another language until you could actually build a new compiler using the new language its self, I though that if SuperMemo was good enough I could prove it by studying how to use it while using it, before that my study of how to use supermemo was to much disorganized and stop learning to use it several times, I think I have know about supermemo since 2005 but it was December 2007 since I haven’t stop using it anymore.

I made a lot of mistakes while learning to use it, but by February 2008 I started to build a collection about any interest in my life, about 70% of the database is medicine related questions, maybe 8% now is SuperMemo related information, 12% Learning & Memory and Neuroscience (mainly cognitive neuroscience) 10% is varied subjects.

I have MCQ for the previous 20 years of exams taken which account to some where between 12,000 and 14,000 maybe more. Of this less than 5,000 have been covered. But now I know exactly what I already know, and what is still not finished. Is like having pictures of all the places you’ve visited but having a map that tells you what you don’t have pictures yet.

The rest of the collection is based on the information I needed in order to understand the MCQ questions. Its not about memorizing the MCQ answers, but using it to learn more while practicing the exam format, and that should help me make the grade. Last year I made 93% percentile of the required grade, this year I just have to make it, will see.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rmd permalink
    April 21, 2010 11:38

    After using an SRS for the past 6 months, I’ve started to wonder how the General Practioner (or any knowledge-based worker) keeps up-to-date and maintains their memory of medical basics. Unless a physician specializes, does incremental reading of studies, and/or reviews the basics (or some combination), how does
    one keep their edge as they continue on in the years after medical school?

    • gersapa permalink*
      April 23, 2010 06:26

      Reply on Day 10 SuperMemo Ultramarthon post, please look it up there.

Trackbacks

  1. Day 10, SuperMemo Ultramarathon – Sharpen your Skills « "wanakumbuka" The-SuperMemo-Blog

Leave a Reply

