Skip to content

Memory can be trained

June 13, 2010

I love to learn and memorize, I don’t like to memorize useless information. But then, what is useless and what is not depends on you like, need or hate. I’ve tried speed card memorization in the past, my personal best is a lousy sub 3min (no I can’t prove it). Like I said before to me, information about learning and neuroscience, as technology is the most important in my life.

Now, how good are the best in the world in mnemonics, almost savant like efficient, they that dam good.

This is a proves memory can be trained: Vimeo Channel

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 16:00

    Insane! Memorizing the cards was impressive, but that spoken numbers event was simply amazing. Ah, the power of mnemonics… 😉

    • gersapa permalink*
      June 14, 2010 15:46

      I can still remember the pain of not being able to remember four newly met drugs and its doses with ease, just a couple of years ago. I have not trouble at double that demand, but that’s way far from being able to absorb numbers at that speed. Even mnemonist Shereshevsky (popularly ‘S’) needed 3 to 4 second pauses between the information he wanted to remember. This guys are stratospherically above that.

      Aleksandr R. Luria and Jerome Bruner, The Mind of a Mnemonist: A Little Book about a Vast Memory (Harvard University Press, 1987).

Trackbacks

  1. Memorize like a Savant « "wanakumbuka" TheSuperMemoryBlog

Leave a Reply

