Skip to content

A need for SuperMemo

August 23, 2010

I’ve failed supermemo’s rule of daily review over the last two years, for periods lasting from 2 days up to two weeks, but since the residency training started, it had become almost two months.

How on earth should I be able to deal with the many repetitions due, and the many many more on the pending queue. First of all, my solution is not based on smart phones. I love smart phone, classic supermemo doesn’t.

I bough my self an EeePC, a simply love the time batteries last — more then 9 hours. I’m keeping my self the EeePC with me almost all the time, it surely look  weird hanging from my carrying bag all the time. At least is easily to recognize me, every body knows I’m the Dr with the netbook bag. You know what, who cares – I’ve updating my repetitions on any time available, and is working just fine, juggling residency training with my external hypocampus. It works.

Many visitor have continue visiting the blog, this is a great reason to continue my efforts to share the little experience I have on this wonderful program, and of course learn a little more from all of you, thanks for the inspiration.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Marcin Rybacki permalink
    August 24, 2010 01:41

    It’s very hard to devote 2-3h timeslot everyday for sm. This is especially true if you’re working on some additional major project. Its hard to switch gears. I noticed that whenever I’ve got some kind of project ongoing this either consumes my entire motivation and focus or when I’m splitting time between supermemo and this project it is to detriment to the project. Time is not the only factor, switching between two domains of knowledge is particularly hard, brain somehow better functions when it is set only on one thing. It’s been 2 months since I gave up my general sm collection, just because I’ve decided to learn German within a year. I hope to get back to it, but this seems somehow difficult.

  2. Jesus Rodriguez permalink
    September 16, 2010 14:53

    How many items do you have in your supermemo database now?

    • gersapa permalink*
      October 13, 2010 22:43

      I have two collections now, one on sm2006 this has more then 25,000 items, and another on sm2008 which has about 3,000 items. I’ve stopped adding items for almost 4 months now, or added very few, this is only because of time constrains.

  3. smtoanki permalink
    October 1, 2010 00:42

    i stopped using categories all together as i found it limiting. i just tag an element by devoting a line of text in the answer section with like:
    #tag1 #tag3 #tag2

    then, you can search for the tag in the ‘find elements’ in the ‘AND section’ making sure that each tag i wanna search is on a seperate line in that ‘AND’ search box. that allows you to find tags in any order.

    implict in it is the ability to add hierarchies with those tags instead of needlessly nesting elements.

    i have an old collection i was thinking of starting over in anki. anki’s portability and ui is a plus, but lacks the tuning of the forgetting index… . also i find myself using the history (back and forth) and going up to the parent and to check the reference of a node alot — all of which isn’t in anki (that i know of). nonetheless, i’m wondering how anki’s scheduling ‘feels’ in comparison to SM 2006. (i’m aware of it using a modded sm-02 algorithm)

    • gersapa permalink*
      October 13, 2010 22:38

      I also use tags, albeit somewhat different from your format, but I think this is the best solution in supermemo. About using Anki or not, is difficult to tell, anki is a great product, offers many options not available on supermemo, but lack so many more in some cases that I can’t and won’t change to Anki, currently.

      • smtoanki permalink
        November 5, 2010 02:06

        what’s your format? (what is it in sm that you can’t do in anki? for me it was largely the forgetting index as it is implement in sm.)

        to early to tell how anki ‘feels’ in comparison to sm (in the long term); i have the settings similar to that of sm and use it as i would (daily, at a certain hour) with sm.
        i am still using both anki and sm for 2 diff collections.

        sm has crashed frequently. repairing the collection seemed to fix it. however it did crash hard once. i lost alot of work which was the initial motivator for anki (that and it’s portable).
        despite all its benefits, that’s the one key factor of not using sm exclusively. though i should have had it setup to back before and after running supermemo. …

        there is something missing … it might be i’m not acclimatized to anki, but the flatname feels alot diff than the sm tree.

        in any case, i recommend storing supermemo collections in a vhd or even in a truecrypt file. makes backing up faster/portable. also make some ahk scripts to make sm more .. functional.

        • gersapa permalink*
          December 7, 2010 03:49

          I’m using an ASUS eepc, runs windows 7 starter. I have no problems with supermemo. I can synchronize using adhoc app. Install the program on some folder like: C:\supermemo not on default one.

  4. griff permalink
    October 28, 2010 11:33

    I’m interested in how this netbook project is going. Does your netbook run xp or windows 7 starter? I’m trying to get up and runnig with supermemo on an HP mini 110 running windows 7 starter, but I’m having a lot of problems. I

    • gersapa permalink*
      March 23, 2011 10:06

      I’m currently using an ASUS Eee-PC 1215P, this dual processor netbook with windows 7 starter. I have no problems with supermemo 8, but supermemo 6 blinks to much. I use an old database of sm6 on a desktop, but my basic collection is on my netbook.

Leave a Reply

